Follower Friday: moovelous

Follower Fridays is a series of profiles highlighting members of Gaysian Third Space to showcase the diversity of gaysians in the Community. This week’s featured member is @moovelous.

Who are you?

I’m a 20 year old college student who’s currently pursuing a Finance major.  I love nature, hiking, classical music, and anything that’s calming or natural. I tend to have a positive outlook on things and situations. This is a very philosophical and broad question for me to answer, but if I had to focus my response, I’d say that I’m an American resident who’s trying his best to find his path in life while fighting against discrimination within my society as an Asian and as a gay man.


Where are you from?

Ancestral origins scream Chinese, but as far as I can remember, I was raised in Myanmar for about one third to a half of my life. If I had to be specific, Yangon, but currently reside in the United States of America unfortunately with Trump being President.

What do you do?

Currently, I work at a restaurant called Agora as a fill-in, but my manager will promote me to host soon. During college, I try to be involved in my GSA, the Gender and Sexuality Alliance, and have been in important positions in the club before. I’ve been the Treasurer for a year and the Vice President for a semester. I’ve also been Safe Zone certified.

What are you passionate about?

At this point in life, I’d have to say connecting with people. College really opened up my window of possibilities by allowing me to meet the friends I have today who are all a part of the LGBTQA+ community.  I love meeting new people because everyone is incredibly different and colorful. It’s almost exciting because I look forward to making new friends, although I have a hard time trying to have people talk to me. I’m also passionate about my hobbies which mainly consist of video games, movies, casual hangouts, and more.

What is your dream job (real or fantasy)?

I’d say my dream job would be to become either a social worker or a counselor, especially for the LGBTQA+ community. I’ve heard quite a hefty amount of negative comments about counselors who claim to be supportive of the LGBTQA+ community, but aren’t therefore I find it hard to trust advisors/counselors/therapists with issues regarding the struggle and torment we go through. Thus, since I love working with people, I would love to help others through their situations as a social worker or a counselor.

If you could change the world with one idea, what would it be?

The key word here is if, but if I could change the world with one idea, it would be to teach everyone that we should look at issues without bias. I’ve seen many people, especially anti-LGBTQA+ members of society be ignorant of what moral struggles and ethical consequences their ideas have on our well-being. We live in a world where people are still discriminated upon by race and/or ethnicity and this shouldn’t even be an issue when we’re just people. Essentially, I just want the world to reach an understanding that most forms of discrimination and profiling is harmful and should be abolished simply because it impacts so many lives immorally.

Leave a Reply

