Follower Friday: lawrsaysrawr

Follower Fridays is a series of profiles highlighting members of Gaysian Third Space to showcase the diversity of gaysians in the Community. This week’s featured member is @lawrsaysrawr.

Who are you?

My name is Lawrence and I’m a 27 year old, first generation Filipino-American. In my spare time I like to play games, draw, hike, explore cities, eat out, and take pictures with my phone.


Where are you from?

I was born and raised in the Bay Area. (Concord -> San Jose -> San Francisco)

What do you do?

I’m a toy designer for an eco-friendly toy company called, Green Toys.

I got into it after graduating with a degree in Industrial Design from SJSU. I originally thought that I wanted to do something in the medical field, but I stopped that midway through my third year in college. Even though it took a while, I’m happy with where I am now.

What are you passionate about?

Currently, I’ve been really involved in listening to what’s going on out in the world and finding my voice. I think it’s really important to stick together as a community to fight and protect each other, but I also think it’s important to do your research before jumping in.

In general, I love critiquing art/design, but not in a condescending way. I just love learning about the stories behind the design or art piece. It’s really inspiring to see people doing things that they’re passionate about.

What is your dream job (real or fantasy)?

I want to build my own streetwear brand. Maybe start with cool backpacks and bags and see where I go from there. I loved my soft goods class in college, but I haven’t gotten around to making a bag in a while. I really have an itch to create.

If you could change the world with one idea, what would it be?

I think it’s important to be socially conscious. If people were more aware, we would be in a better place. We often overlook the things we can’t see.

Leave a Reply

