Follower Friday: boxheadd


Follower Fridays is a series of profiles highlighting members of Gaysian
Third Space to showcase the diversity of gaysians in the Community.
This week’s featured member is @boxheadd.

Who are you?

I’m Thompson Cong Nguyen, I’m 25, a Sagittarius and a queer Vietnamese-Canadian designer.

Where are you from?

I’m based in Toronto, Ontario, Canada. Although my family’s roots are from Northern Vietnam.

What do you do?

I studied architecture and design in Ottawa, Canada and was working in an architecture firm in Toronto for a couple of years. It was a great experience, albeit not a very PoC-prevalent work environment. Always curious about how I may work in Southeast Asia, I decided to take an opportunity to embark on an internship in Bangkok working at the Thai National AIDS Foundation, a small organization that works on projects in HIV/AIDS development across the country.  

What are you passionate about?

I’m very passionate about how sharing stories has incredible effects on emotional, political and system levels of justice. Particularly I’m a firm believer that queer communities of colour need to be sharing their stories more than ever. This is especially important within our queer Asian community as we often silence the voices of each other and ourselves.

What is your dream job (real or fantasy)?

Though I love architecture and design, and do see myself working in the field in the future, I’d love to be working in film or theatre. In particular I want to be producing the very stories we need to hear by queer communities of colour. Either designing the set, writing the script, directing or acting, it’s something I’m quite shy to outright say but I feel quite strongly about.

But hey if that doesn’t work out, I’d love to work as an architect or urban designer, possibly impacting international policy on housing and urban quality of life for marginalized folks.

If you could change the world with one idea, what would it be?

This question is tough!

A good friend of mine started asking me “how is your heart?” And we would really take the time to search for an answer. And we would listen to each other.

If we started asking this before community consultations, work meetings, talks with your parents, friends and partners, how might things be different?

Would we communicate or understand each other better?

How is your heart?

Any personal plugs you’d like us to mention?

Shout out to ACAS – Asian Community AIDS Services

One thought on “Follower Friday: boxheadd

Leave a Reply

