Fiercely ‘Femme, Fat, and Asian’

With the premiere of RuPaul’s Drag Race Season 9 just around the corner, I wanted to highlight one of my favorite queens from Season 8, Kim Chi, as we conclude this week’s discussion on queering the map of Asian masculinity and desirability. Fiercely femme, fat, and Asian, Kim-Chi calls into question the toxic sexual racism and heternormative structures that hold us down and keep us apart.

      – Irving

P.S. It’s been a pleasure serving as your guest mod this week, for more discussions feel free to hit me up at @hipstirrednotshaken.

“Clearly someone like me is supposed to be lusting after someone like
that. But I’m going to not just reject it, but I’m also going to throw
some shade at it. And I’m going to redefine what it means to be
desirable because I’m the one up here with all the attention. I’m the
one that they should want.”

             -Kim Chi

Fiercely ‘Femme, Fat, and Asian’

Leave a Reply

