Follower Friday: lustforthoughts

Follower Fridays is a series of profiles highlighting members of Gaysian
Third Space to showcase the diversity of gaysians in the Community.
This week’s featured member is @lustforthoughts.

Who are you?

A Vietnamese Montréalais Cali-Texan navigating the seas of boredom and singledom.  I’m defined by my tank tops, awkward overbite, and alarming love for Sex & the City.  I also enjoy occasional walks to the pub–reminiscent of my UCLA undergrad days.

Where are you from?

I was born and raised in Montréal; but immigrated to California a while back for school.  Texas is my current home: I relocated last year for work.

What do you do?

I’m a fourth grade teacher by daylight and Johns Hopkins graduate student by moonlight.  I’m pursuing an MS in Education to expand my teaching practice and widen my impact within the education system.

What are you passionate about?

Creative writing.  When I was an ELL student in California, I carried a French-English dictionary around to write poetry (and learn English) during recess.  I fell in love with Dr. Seuss and Shel Silverstein: I’d rehearse, rewrite, and read their poems to my teachers and interventionists.  Though my words were limited, my thoughts were infinite.  

At UCLA, an Asian American Studies course introduced me to API playwrights who used creative writing as a means for navigating social consciousnesses.  Their works inspired me to further venture into poetry.

What is your dream job (real or fantasy)?

After a few more years in Texas, I see myself settled back in California.  My dream job is to teach English or social studies in a Catholic high school, where I’ll have the avenue to explore my Catholic identity as well.  

If you could change the world with one idea, what would it be?

“Qui n’avance pas, recule.“
           
           – ” Those who do not move forward, recede”.

Leave a Reply

