Sex, Power, God

Sex, Power, God:

I grew up in the Seventh-day Adventist church, one of the smaller and more obscure fundamentalist denominations of Protestant Christianity. My background in religion involves growing up in Guam where my parents served as medical missionaries until I was six, going through an Adventist school system from Kindergarten until 8th grade, going to week-long missionary training camps throughout middle school, and on to mission trips overseas throughout high school and college. I had no awareness of queer people growing up in this church. In fact, this memory of playing a game called “Smear the Queer” with my church friends growing up stuck in my mind. I didn’t know what “queer” meant, but I remember someone saying that we shouldn’t use that word, and also someone saying that “queer” just meant “weird.” I was too enthralled in the game that was essentially another version of dodgeball to care what we called it. Who knew that about a decade later, I would be using that word to describe myself?

Leave a Reply

