Follower Friday: the-color-of-starlight

Follower Fridays is a series of profiles highlighting members of Gaysian
Third Space to showcase the diversity of gaysians in the Community.
This week’s featured member is @the-color-of-starlight​.

image

Who are you?

I’m Brad (he/him/his), a decidedly unhip 80-year-old man masquerading as a 22-year-old.  I was adopted from South Korea when I was one, which has made defining myself and forging an identity difficult.  Beyond that, I can say that I’m an avid reader, a Madonna enthusiast, and a general disaster.

Where are you from?

I grew up in Claremore–a small, conservative town in northwest Oklahoma, USA.  I went to school nearby in Tulsa, and that’s where I’m living currently.

What do you do?

I earned my BS in psychology last May.  Since then, I’ve worked at a psychiatric hospital and interned at a local nonprofit whose mission was to curb teen pregnancy.  Now, I’m looking for my next adventure!

I’m anxiously awaiting to hear back from a number of graduate programs as well, so that’s terrifying…

What are you passionate about?

Maybe it’s the psych major in me, but I really enjoy listening to other people talk about the things they love.  Sometimes, I get my friends started on their interests and then just sit back and let them go.

I mean,you get to learn about new things AND the people you care about.  How cool is that?

What is your dream job (real or fantasy)?

Hmm…  I would love to be a famous yet reclusive novelist, known equally for his wit, his eccentricities, and his heart-shattering good looks.

Being realistic, my goal is to be a college professor.  I thrive in an academic climate and want to be part of my field’s scholarly dialogue.  However, and more importantly, I’ve had so many wonderful professors who have inspired me and helped shaped who I’ve become.  I think it would be an honor to be that kind of role model for someone else.

If you could change the world with one idea, what would it be?

The Temple of Apollo is famous for the inscription “know thyself,” and it’s an idea that I believe a lot of people struggle with still.  I think that many of life’s struggles arise because we don’t really know who we are, what we want, or how an action might make us feel later on.

My little exercise for you (to help you get to know yourself if you don’t already): what is something that you stand for in life?

Leave a Reply

