Follower Friday: quackasaurus

Follower Fridays is a series of profiles highlighting members of Gaysian Third Space to showcase the diversity of gaysians in the Community. This week’s featured member is @quackasaurus.

Who are you?

Throughout the years, I’ve been known by several aliases. Jaffs, El Jefe, Dino Duck. But above it all, I’m just your ordinary first-generation Chinese American finding what my purpose is to my community and my life.

Where are you from?

I grew up in Pallet Town, where my best friend constantly gave me shit because I like balls and he doesn’t.

On a more serious note, I was raised in a Northern Californian suburb in the SF Bay Area. I went to school a little less than hour away from home (Go Bears!) and now I reside in the city. Needless to say, I’ve never left the Bay Area for an extended amount of time, and I don’t plan to because this is where I call home.

What do you do?

I’m trying on several hats, from being an amateur poet, to being a full-time snookums. But above all, I’m an enthusiastic engineer finding exciting technologies to help do what patients need next. Currently, I work at a large-scale pharmaceutical company in South SF as a Process Engineer.

What are you passionate about?

Counseling! I enjoy advocating for higher education and exploring creative ways to be a mentor, be it professionally or through personal aspects. I am humbled by the obstacles I have yet to encounter or the knowledge that I have yet to learn, but I enjoy sharing and contributing my experiences with my peers and those who ask.

What is your dream job (real or fantasy)?

I don’t know. I’ve been having a lot of nightmares lately, but hopefully my next dream will be a good one.

Real job: I like being in that medium between research and manufacturing. Technical development is the goal, but it’s hard to be a part without proper experience in the field. I hope that my years in biotechnology and pharmaceutical will land me something in that realm as a future job.

Fantasy job: Professional stay-home father. Except I wouldn’t have kids.

If you could change the world with one idea, what would it be?

Stop making food cost money. According to Mint, I spend 76% of my income on it, with the exception of rent.

No but really, please make medicine more affordable. As much as I enjoy profiting from the pharmaceutical field, I think it’s important that patients have the resources they need.

Leave a Reply

