Follower Friday: pandadenny


Follower Fridays is a series of profiles highlighting members of Gaysian
Third Space to showcase the diversity of gaysians in the Community.
This week’s featured member is @pandadenny.

image

Who are you?

Hey there! My name is Denny and I am a 23 year old, first-generation,  mixed-Vietnamese gay man.

Where are you from?

I’m current in the Bay Area but I am originally from Moreno Valley, CA (SoCal)

What do you do?

I am a second year graduate student at the University of San Francisco working on my MS in  Chemistry.

What are you passionate about?

I am passionate about music (currently is the SF Gay Men’s Chorus), LOVE, anime, and of course FOOOOOOOOOD!

What is your dream job (real or fantasy)?

Fantasy: Get myself a keyblade and protect my friends or become a summoner and save the world with my aeon/eidolon/esper friends.

Real: I have no clue! Maybe is a lab with work that I am proud of or even teaching people to love chemistry.

If you could change the world with one idea, what would it be?

Acceptance of multiple ethnicities and identities.To make a long story short, I grew up learning the language and culture of Vietnam from my parents (both who are half-Viet), aunt, and grandma. Whenever I went to the markets in Little Saigon I felt as if people viewed me as an outsider because I didn’t look Vietnamese. Dealing with that and my gay identity was a struggle at first until I learned to accept who I am. Being able to express your entire being is truly a wonderful feeling and I hope everyone can have the space to do so.

Leave a Reply

