Follower Friday: rho86

Follower Fridays is a series of profiles highlighting members of Gaysian Third Space to showcase the diversity of gaysians in the Community. This week’s featured member is @rho86.

image

Who are you?

I am Rhommel Canare and I live in Oakland, California. I am 29 (going on 30) years old and always trying to be the best me everyday. Sometimes I mess up, but eh, no ones perfect.

Where are you from?

Born in Hawai’i. Grew up in San Diego, went to college in Los Angeles, did graduate studies in San Francisco, wandered the desert for 3 years in Las Vegas, and now I am here back in the SF Bay Area (Oakland). Geographic urban residue of experiences that make up me–Rho.

What do you do?

Since I graduated in 2012 from San Francisco State, I landed a job working in higher education as an academic advisor for Nevada State College (NSC) from 2013 to 2015 and currently at UC Berkeley. So far it is a pretty good field to be in.

Taken from my linked: “Rhommel hails from Southern California where he grew up in San Diego, Ca. He pursued his undergraduate studies in Sociology and Ethnic Studies at UCLA. He also holds a Masters degree in Ethnic Studies from San Francisco State University. Rhommel has diverse experience serving students from high schools, state colleges, and now at UC Berkeley. He is committed in ensuring all students are given the appropriate tools and spaces to navigate their education with holistic health and wellness in mind and in practice.”

….yea, that’s nice. More than that, I guess I’m a life long learner and I believe I’m always in the process of becoming a better version of myself–learn new skills, seek new challenges, and just grow.

What are you passionate about?

I am passionate about health, fitness, having control of your basic needs and how you want to grow and improve one’s self.

I am passionate about learning–facilitating processes for each person’s path to greatness whatever that may be.

I am passionate about culture and community survival and counter productions. Things (yea, things) that communities–who often struggle to exist and/or can be found in the margins–produce to make this world a better one where we all matter.

I am also just passionate about appreciating the now, what we often take for granted, and illuminating the preciousness in the everyday.

What is your dream job (real or fantasy)?

I want to just TRAVEL! Go places. Seek adventure. See the wide range of human condition and be a part it all. So that can better inform my understanding of purpose.

I also wish I could just embrace the artist in me. But gah, I got to work, make money, and pay bills, and student loans.

What I do now though, is pretty cool though.

If you could change the world with one idea, what would it be?

Everyone to ask themselves, “Who is the authentic me?” and to try to put into practice something that reflects their conclusion. Perhaps just for a day.

Leave a Reply

