Follower Friday: rayonnaisesauce

Follower Fridays is a series of profiles highlighting members of Gaysian Third Space to showcase the diversity of gaysians in the Community. This week’s featured member is @rayonnaisesauce.

Who are you?

I am Raymond, a mechanical engineering student, artist, animator, gamer, aspiring voice actor, and musician. I’m 20 years old, but I’m turning 21 really soon.

I can be a little two sided with my art side and engineering side, so bear with me. My composition skills aren’t that great either, so bear with me there as well LOL.

Where are you from?

I was born in Monterey Park to immigrant parents from China. Shortly after we moved to West Covina where I lived the majority of my life. I live in Colton now.

What do you do?

I’m going to The University of California: Riverside to get a bachelors in Mechanical Engineering. There, I am part of a team for Robosub, a team dedicated to build an autonomous submarine. As the mechanical lead, I designate jobs for the mechanical team to build the submarine, waterproof, and optimize the design. Lately, I’ve been trying to get into this research group with Professor Mathaudhu.

In my free time, I usually like to go on Tumblr, play games, draw, plan out cartoons, teach myself piano, sing, voice act, or paint.

What are you passionate about?

I really love science and art, and I feel like engineering is a blend of the two, but I like both on their own. Physics is interesting especially now that I’m reading up on Einstein’s Theory of General Relativity, which you should really get into. As for engineering, I love the wonders it can do for all ages. Toys, cars, houses, electronics, particle propulsion, spacecrafts, everything comes down to engineering of some kind, and such wonders are what I love. It’s not always just for the money.

Art is magical for the things it can do for me and you. I love expressing my thoughts on a canvas because what I feel can be physically manifested, and isn’t that cool to have a flavor of what I thought? That’s mostly painting, but when I draw, I love anatomy, character designs, concepts for engineering, and the fact that I can draw whatever I want.

What is your dream job (real or fantasy)?

For my two sides, I have two dream jobs:

I would love to become part of a prosthesis company to design limbs that have a straight nerve-to-tissue connection. There, I would draft designs that are artistic and functional. The whole reason why I became an engineering student was because of Deus Ex: Human Revolution, and I wanted to make limbs like Adam Jensen’s.

If engineering isn’t a thing, I would love to work for an animation company to make anime, do voices, and design characters.

If you could change the world with one idea, what would it be?

Don’t forget what makes us human.

Humans are social animals and we need each other to live. Our children won’t be able to learn without other humans, so the importance of caring for each other is extremely critical. Love and accept each other, and humans can live for generations to come. Think of nurses, scientists, and teachers. They are people who want to see us live and grow, and that is so amazing in this cruel, cold, and dangerous world.

Leave a Reply

