Follower Friday: huynhdows98

Follower Fridays is a series of profiles highlighting members of Gaysian Third Space to showcase the diversity of gaysians in the Community. This week’s featured member is @huynhdows98.

Who are you?

Hi there! I’m Tim. Just your average 25 year old VietAm. I’m your typical ‘spoiled’ millenial, working 50 hour weeks but not buying diamonds.

Where are you from?

I’m east coast born and raised by refugees, specifically from Connecticut. I went to undergrad at Syracuse University for four years and then made my way to the west coast for grad school at the University of Southern California. I currently live in Orange County.

What do you do?

Haha this is a complicated question. I dream constantly, just imagining different fantasies and options. I eat all the time and am always on the look out for my next culinary adventure. I live because I have no option but to continue trying despite my hurdles.

In all seriousness, I am currently working at a juice bar/acai bowl place. It’s not where I want to be, but it pays the bills and will hopefully get me to where I want to be. I’ve been attempting to start my career in student affairs/higher education but it’s been a really long struggle and journey. I’m not giving up, though. One way or another, I’ll make it.

What are you passionate about?

Oh man, so much. I am in love with food and all things culinary. I believe that food is the cornerstone of culture and it’s one of the few things in this world that allow us to connect across differences. Everyone has to eat and creating beauty out of necessity in the way humans have with food is amazing to me.

I’m passionate about equity, about making sure that what’s being perpetuated is more than just fair, it’s just. Whether that’s dialogue about intersections of identity and solutions to make safer spaces or righting a wrong to inclusion and what it means for underrepresented people to feel like they have a key role in conversations and action.

What is your dream job (real or fantasy)?

This is hard. On the one hand, I would love to open my own bakery or something along those lines. I love making people happy, especially through food and if I could share that with people, I’d be so immensely happy.

On the other hand, I’d love to finally start my work in student affairs as a full time professional. I enjoyed student leadership so much as an undergrad and my training in grad school really fulfilled me in a professional sense that I’d love to be leading efforts in diversity and inclusion or working with underrepresented student populations to help change their campuses in positive ways.

If you could change the world with one idea, what would it be?

We’re not always where we want to be but we’re all on our way. The last year of mine has been an immense struggle in trying to reconcile where I thought I would be with where I am in life. It has been incredibly difficult and trying, but I believe that I’m in a better spot than I was and that’s because of the amazing support I’ve had along the way.

Everyone is on their own journey and we all need a hand or just a listening ear. I believe that the more people that understand this, the more we’ll be able to help each other get to where we want to be.

Leave a Reply

