Follower Friday: ntongh2o

Follower Fridays is a series of profiles highlighting members of Gaysian Third Space to showcase the diversity of gaysians in the Community. This week’s featured member is @ntongh2o.

image

Who are you?

I am a lover of cats, video games, technology, film, cars, and boys (obviously)! Overall I consider myself very cookie-cutter for an American born Chinese. I share many of the same interests and hobbies most ABCs born in the 90s have. One quality that makes me stand out is my cooking. Not that I ever went to culinary school or have the skills to work in a restaurant, but whenever I bring something to a potluck, I get compliments and asks for the recipe. My parents are from Hong Kong, so the secondary language I speak is Cantonese. I do NOT like sushi…

Where are you from?

I was born in Southern California in the 90s. I grew up with a sister, parents, and a variety of different pets through the years. I live quite close to LA and have been to all the amusement parks in the area. I went to UC Irvine for college(zot zot zot), so I resided there for four years of my life. Right now, I live close to one of the 21 missions in California and the city is named after one of them.

What do you do?

I currently work as a Unit Clerk at the LAC+USC Medical Center. Only been at the job for four weeks, but so far it has been quite enjoyable to work at the hospital. The nurses make great coworkers, meeting patients needs brings me joy, and the pay/benefits/hours are awesome!

What are you passionate about?

Technology, specifically computer hardware is my area of expertise. I have been attached to video games since I was in first grade and back then I only had a Playstation and Win95 PC. I remember playing CS 1.6 on a crappy PC with 256 MB of RAM and a Intel Pentium III CPU, which only gave me a measly 25 FPS. I started building my own PCs to game in high school and I have built three for friends and family. I take care of all the electronic gadgetry in the house and my friends come to me for tech support. Technology has advanced so rapidly in the past 20 years. We went from dial-up to fiber internet, landlines to touch screen cellphones, and bulky TVs/monitors to slim HD displays. One recent development that I hope to get my hands on soon is a VR headset.

What is your dream job (real or fantasy)?

A dream job for me is to manage my own cat cafe. I enjoy cats very much and being able to work with them as your “coworkers” would be awesome! I am a firm believer that one should be working a job that keeps him or her happy. A cat cafe would be a great environment to work in. You work to find cats new homes to enjoy and also pair owners up with their future loved pets.

If you could change the world with one idea, what would it be?

To always be nice to those you meet. Working in a hospital ward, I meet many patients from all sorts of backgrounds. The hospital is located in the LA area, close to downtown, so we get some homeless patients in our ward from time to time. If I pass by them on the streets I would never talk to any of them. In the hospital they are mostly very polite and friendly and also have interesting stories to tell about themselves. Most of us have a preconception that all homeless people deserve to be where they are because they messed up in life and they should be regarded as lesser people. The golden rule isn’t even a new or novel idea, but it’s one that would make a huge difference if it was practiced universally.

Leave a Reply

