Meet The Khmer Muscle Boys Challenging Perceptions Of What It Means To Be Young And Gay In Cambodia

rexomnia:

I mean. I think there’s a lot that needs to happen in Cambodia. But this is cool too.

What they’re wearing is interesting…it’s a sampot châng kben but like…shorter? And I guess that makes it modern? I like it. But I think it only really works on these models lol. Because they’re shirtless. And I like that.

Thanks to @rexomnia for posting this up. I agree with his succinct comment.

On a side note, I like to see darker-skinned Asians get airtime because I feel that in the broader Asian media those with typically more pale skin tone are overwhelmingly portrayed as the archetype of what is desirable. Besides seeing this in my own culture’s media, I also noticed this when I lived in Southeast Asia where celebrities on TV are extremely white relative to their local compatriots. 

This coupled with cultural terms such as the Chinese phrase “bai fu mei” literally “white, rich, and beautiful” and its counterpart in other Asian cultures present a challenging aspect of desirability based on skin tone and class within the many different Asian communities. 

In term of the gaysian space, I’ve found that in the broader gay community we are very vocal about the racism that exist, “no Blacks, no Asian…” but within our own community discrimination does exist too. What are y’all thoughts? 

-Letters

Meet The Khmer Muscle Boys Challenging Perceptions Of What It Means To Be Young And Gay In Cambodia

Leave a Reply

