Follower Friday: bobbythejetsetter

Follower Fridays is a series of profiles highlighting members of
Gaysian Third Space to showcase the diversity of gaysians in the
Community. This week’s featured member is @bobbythejetsetter.

image

Who are you?

Ah..a question I battle with on a nightly basis.  If the person I am today is different from the person I was yesterday, then who is this person I’m supposed to become tomorrow?   Hah!  I kid.  I’m Bobby.   Pleasure to meet you.  Other than being a young, gay Asian male, I consider myself a jet setter, a blogger, a person who sings in the shower, and a storyteller.   A simple question like that will take more than just a little paragraph to reveal what I’m all about.  Alas, you shall see. 🙂     

Where are you from?

I reside in a small, yet growing city in North Carolina where I can count on two hands how many Gaysians are in the whole state.  It’s quite a boring state and the dating scene is totally not impressive, and one day I will finally make that move out of here.  My family originated from Thailand and Laos.  

What do you do?

I daydream a lot and tend to people watch in a way one might deem as super ultra mega weird.  But people are quite a fascinating species.

I’m also a flight attendant.  Yes, it can be glamorous, but it can also be downright dirty.  I have a love/hate relationship with people.

Back in college, I majored in Psychology and International Studies and my hobbies include but not limited to blogging, making videos, writing short stories, and researching the most bizarre things I can find on the Internet.

What are you passionate about?

Exploring different cultures and how other people from all over the world behave.  Educating, inspiring, and entertaining others.  Empowering the Asian community as a whole and as individuals.  

What is your dream job (real or fantasy)?

You mean besides putting on a costume and roaming the city streets at night fighting crime and saving damsels in distress?  I hope to someday find a career that will combine everything I mentioned in what I do.  I intend to make it happen.      

If you could change the world with one idea, what would it be?

I want to encourage and inspire people to be more collective, similar to people in European and Asian countries, but yet still embrace our individualism.  If we learned to do things more as a group, such as cleaning up the city or building homes for homeless people, we can build a stronger community.

Leave a Reply

