Follower Friday: haveanattyday

Follower Fridays is a series of profiles highlighting members of
Gaysian Third Space to showcase the diversity of gaysians in the
Community. This week’s featured member is @haveanattyday.

Who are you?

Bonjour, je suis Nathaniel but you may call me Natty. I also respond to Nate or Nat. I am quite the oddball, but my veneer portrays me as a simple, quiet nerd (although I find myself increasing adopting this “dumb blonde Asian” facade). I often have my head in the clouds. C’est tout? 

Where are you from?

I was born in Monterey Park, California and grew up in the San Gabriel Valley in the Southern California region. 

What do you do?

I am currently a fashion design major at The New School/Parsons. At this current point in time, I am doing my junior year abroad at the Parsons Paris campus. 

What are you passionate about?

Shhhh, my biggest passion is Barbie. The 12 inch fashion doll has become an integral interest point in my identity and functions as both a source of inspiration and a medium to express my creativity.

Other than that, my passions run in almost every direction imaginable in the realm of art and design. I’m a fine mess. I enjoy fashion communication and marketing. Window displays, interior design, fashion magazines (particularly indie magazines), product design, typography, graphic design, fashion and film, etc. I also have an affinity for cartoons and comics and have a growing interest in cinematic games (ie The Last of Us) or visually captivating chill games (Journey). Sometimes I want to do it all. 

What is your dream job (real or fantasy)?

At this point in time, the dream job is to work as a Barbie designer. I’d also like very much to be able to work at an ad agency, though. At some point in my life, I’d love to have my own boutique.  

If you could change the world with one idea, what would it be?

If I could change the world with one idea, it would be to break the gender binary. The world is already such a beautifully diverse place and fitting everything into a this or that type of box is so confining. If we could all just love each other…“I wish I could bake a cake filled with rainbows and smiles and everyone would eat and be happy…”

(I low-key feel like I was just given a Miss Universe question…*nervous laughter*)

Leave a Reply

