Strong

jsl009:

I always try to be calm and collected. It’s a matter of control. I accept fault for more than I should because when I do I have the power to change it. I let people take advantage sometimes because correcting their behavior isn’t worth my energy. I don’t get worked up over little things because my time is better spent on whatever the task is at hand.

But sometimes circumstances get the better of me.

The walls of my seemingly tall and mighty castle are penetrated and the facade comes crashing down. With all of my life experience and preparation, it is in these moments that I feel completely lost and vulnerable. 

Leave it to a kid show to dole out the most effective advice. 

“It’s not easy being in control. I have weaknesses too. But I choose not to let them consume me. I struggle to stay strong because I know the impact I have on everyone. Please understand, Pearl. You have an impact too. There are times when I look up to you for strength. You are your own gem. You control your destiny. Not me, not Rose, not Steven. But you must choose to be strong, so we can move forward. So I can trust you again.” (Friend Ship)

Steven Universe is becoming my favorite animated show of all time. It somehow pulled me back up when I felt I wasn’t strong enough to do so. Now to resolve remaining pieces and hopefully come out stronger than before. 

Being strong is a choice. 

– Fish

Leave a Reply

