Follower Friday: dandypandy

Follower Fridays is a series of profiles highlighting members of Gaysian Third Space to showcase the diversity of gaysians in the Community. This week’s featured member is @dandypandy.

Who are you?

My identity is in flux at this time of my life as I try to reconcile future aspirations and current actions. I am a second generation Korean American who sometimes forgets to live a little.

Where are you from?

I grew up in the suburbs near LA and am now going to school in San Diego.

What do you do?

I study mechanical engineering, co-coordinate a student organization, volunteer in river clean-ups, and work with GIS. In my free time I like to take pictures, eat froyo, and dance (after having a few drinks).

What are you passionate about?

My recent time in school has allowed me to explore my interests and discover what I’m passionate about, namely the environment, education, and service. Nature provides personal enjoyment for me and is necessary to sustain life. Education empowers and creates potential in facilitating social justice. Service is to give back to the communities you are a part of.

What is your dream job (real or fantasy)?

For a career project in third grade, I somehow managed to interview a poet because I was interested in poetry (I knew how to rhyme and that was about it). In fourth grade, my friend and I would make stories together and I would be the illustrator.  Yet ten year later and I’m pursuing a STEM major. Ideally, I would like to be a college professor, so that I would be able to do research while teach undergraduates at the same time.

If you could change the world with one idea, what would it be?

Find balance, especially in being an individual and being a member of a group (e.g. culture, family, organization, couple, etc.)

Leave a Reply

