Follower Friday: talkingtothefish

Follower Fridays is a series of profiles highlighting members of Gaysian Third Space to showcase the diversity of gaysians in the Community. This week’s featured member is @talkingtothefish.

Who are you?

I identify as a young adult, gay male, Chinese Canadian. But to be honest, I am still figuring out what most of those labels mean, not only to myself but to those around me as well.

I’m really just a guy that enjoys going on adventures, eating yummy foods, trying to make witty/stupid jokes on whatever social media I’m using the most at the moment (currently snapchat), and writing about it all on my blog.

My blog is primarily a place for me to reflect and look back on my life experiences, like an online journal, and secondarily an opportunity for others to possibly view things from a different perspective or maybe realize that they aren’t alone in being lost and confused in this crazy world.

Where are you from?

Southern Ontario, Canada.

What do you do?

I pretty much live my life trying to better understand myself and the world around me. I can’t say I have any specific, long-term aspirations or significant work experience to define me as of this moment, and even if I did I’m not sure that’s how I would wish to present myself to others.

But for those of you who were looking for less of a whimsical answer, I am currently a student aspiring to work both domestically and abroad in various career fields.

What are you passionate about?

Canadian politics, participatory democracy, identity politics, mental health awareness, poetry, learning languages, and more recently, becoming more publicly vocal about these things I care about in order to promote positive change in the world.

What is your dream job (real or fantasy)?

I spent a long time trying to figure out what my “dream job” was and ultimately realized that there is no single job that can or ever will define my existence. More accurately, I could see myself in a number of varying career positions that I would be equally satisfied with.

Instead, I like to focus on an “ideal lifestyle” which includes a stable job providing a comfortable wage, benefits, growth opportunities, and the ability to positively impact others/society. It also includes having lots of interesting hobbies, time to hang out with friends/family, opportunities to travel, a healthy, long-term relationship with a cute guy, and maybe a cat or a dog (probably a cat).

If you could change the world with one idea, what would it be?

I would say that we should all generally be more compassionate and open-minded to one another. Everyone is going through their own unique struggles in life and we should all learn to be more empathetic to these concerns instead of ignoring them or even exploiting them for personal gain.

Leave a Reply

