Follower Friday: jsl009

Follower Fridays is a series of profiles highlighting members of Gaysian Third Space to showcase the diversity of gaysians in the Community. This week’s featured member is @jsl009.

image

Who are you?

I’ve never been one to be easily summed up by a few quick words, but I’ll do my best. I’m a Chinese-American 20-something from near San Francisco. I’m a serial expatriate, having lived in San Diego, Hong Kong, Taipei, and now currently in Melbourne. I’m also a political junkie, a strong pragmatist, a hopeless romantic, and a complete dork.  Oh and I like boys.

Where are you from?

I was born in the city defined by its irrationalities and raised just a few short miles south.

What do you do?

Everything. I’ve sold Catholic uniforms, argued cases in front of fake judges, worked in life science marketing, tested injectable pharmaceutical drugs, taught English to overprivileged Taiwanese kids, and answered questions about securities from people with too much money. 

What are you passionate about?

I am quite passionate about finding my passion. Like most others I struggle with the existential questions of our generation; what is our passion, and how will we use that to derive purpose in life?

What is your dream job (real or fantasy)?

My dream job would involve helping people. We will spend the majority of our lives working, so I want to devote that time to affecting and creating change in this world. It’s also been a longtime my dream of mine to work and live in San Francisco.

If you could change the world with one idea, what would it be?

Lessening the suffering of others. Our lives are rife with privilege. Ask yourself when if ever you used that privilege to benefit another person.

Leave a Reply

