Follower Friday: thisisnotwriting

Follower Fridays is a series of profiles highlighting members of Gaysian Third Space to showcase the diversity of gaysians in the Community. This week’s featured member is @thisisnotwriting.

Who are you?

While I have multiple identifiers, the three-most important ones for me are: identifying as Hmong, as Asian American, and then as a gay Asian man. A lot of what fuels me in life are these three, because they are the reasons I wake up in the morning, the work I want to do/communities in which I want to influence, and are responsible for a good amount of the lessons I’ve had to learn in life. Like all others with multiple identifiers, there are days when one will trump the others; then there are days when all three will intersect beautifully.

Where are you from?

The Midwest.

What do you do?

I am a teacher by trade and will be going back to grad school to get my masters in ESL. In the mean time, I am currently working for a non-profit org in youth work.

What are you passionate about?

I stand for Southeast Asian movements and rights. Too often we and our issues get overlooked when compared to other “trendier” race talks and incidences, where America will rush to get behind. There’s still a lot of work needs getting done before SEA’s can feel “heard.” I’m also passionate about writing, and teaching young learners to understand the importance of good writing skills, which may lead to great opportunities and studies.

What is your dream job (real or fantasy)?

As a child, I wanted to be a zoologist. (How fun would it be to work with exotic and endangered animals?) As an adult, I want to explode as an international best-seller, so I can own multiple homes in multiple countries.

If you could change the world with one idea, what would it be?

Follow G3S to be part of something wonderful!

Leave a Reply

